Game of Lacrosse scores with Latin players

The 2014 World Lacrosse Championship was held in Denver, CO. this July and Upstate New York was well represented. In addition to the entire Haudenosaunee Iroquois Nationals lacrosse team, players from Cornell University, Syracuse University, RIT, Hobart and SUNYIT were playing, representing several of the thirty eight (38) participating countries from around the world.


The ten day event, commencing on July 10, 2014 with an exquisite opening ceremony, was highlighted by a traditional Native American prayer, followed by a ritual of dance and music to bless the fields and the games. Once the dance was complete, FIL President Stan Cockerton welcomed all the fans and the teams, and at the end of his speech said “Let the Games Begin.” Then, team USA and Canada took the field and after a hard fought game between two of the top lacrosse powers, USA came victorious with a final score of 10-7.

Thirty eight (38) countries from all continents were represented at the competition, including teams from Argentina, Colombia, Costa Rica, Mexico and Spain. The completion and the camaraderie that followed each game made a strong statement as to the drawing power of the game of lacrosse around the world. The University of Denver was home to all the teams for the duration of the event, providing lodging, meals, athletic facilities, practice fields and team transportation.

The games took place at Dicks Sporting Goods Stadium, in Commerce City. Ten Divisions comprised of approximately four teams played three round robin games. Based on their win-loss records, each team was matched against a team from a different division. Most teams play seven to eight games depending on their win-loss records. The final standings were as follows for the top five teams:
1. Canada
2. USA
3. Haudenosaunee Iroquois National
4. Australia
5. England.

Up State New York area athletes and the teams they represented are as follows:
Team USA: Rob Pannell, New York Lizards, Cornell, Matt Abbott, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Syracuse, Chris Eck, Boston Cannons, Colgate, Mitch Belisle, Boston Cannons, Cornell, John Galloway, Rochester Rattlers, Syracuse,
Team Canada: Gary Gates (coach)

Team Haudenosaunee Iroquois Nationals: Cody Jamieson, Brett Bucktooth, Roger Vyse, Miles Thompson, Ty Thompson, Seth Oakes, James Cathers, Jeremy Thompson, Jeff Shattler, Craig Point, Lyle Thompson, Johnny Powless, Mike Lazore, Alex “Kedo” Hill, Randy Staats, Adam “Abby” Bomberry, Jerome “Hiana” Thompson, Zed Williams, Frank Brown, Anthony Patterson, Brendan Bomberry, Zach Miller, Vaughn Harris, Neal Hopps, Rod Squire, Zach Williams, Sid Smith, Marshall Abrams, Tom Montour, Taylor Smoke, Kyle Isaacs, Jesse Jimerson, Oakley Thomas, Myan Adams, Travis Hill, Isiah Kicknosaway, Tyson Bomberry, Jr. Bucktooth, Billy O’Brien, Marty Ward, Warren Hill, Jeff White, Spencer Lyons, Trey Adams.

Team Spain: Jon Eguren, SUNYIT. Team Spain finished with a 2-5 record. Eguren, who was a three year Captain at SUNYIT, had 6 goals and 2 assists, from his attack position.
Reporters and photographers for CNY Latino – Daniel Carman & Susana Carman

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *